Susan Sussman
The Official Website of Susan Sussman

Books by
Susan Sussman

Mystery, female sleuths, humor
The latest Sussman mystery filled with Miami mayhem, miscreants and murder.
Theater-world Mysteries
A sharp and sassy crime debut in the tradition of Janet Evanovich and Lauren Henderson.
(Also available in Audiobook!)
Sussman and Avidon deliver an amazingly fresh and entertaining puzzle sure to have mystery fans crying "encore!" once again.
Contemporary Women’s Fiction
The Best No-Calorie Treat of the Decade!
Here, with wit, warmth and penetrating insight, is a love story for the new millennium.
A powerful and compelling novel about a woman's discovery of her true identity.
Children's Fiction
A charming ecumenical story promoting brotherhood and understanding.
(Also available on video!)
Each of the eight lights of Hanukkah are described from various corners of the world.
What do you do when you’re a little scared of the thunder and a storm hits? Why, you count hippos!
Children's Nonfiction
Full-color photographs illustrate fourteen of the most fascinating symbiotic relationships that have developed between pairs of living creatures.
An essential book for the budding grade-school scientist.

There’s No Such Thing as a Chanukah Bush, Sandy Goldstein


There’s No Such Thing as a Chanukah Bush, Sandy Goldstein
Susan Sussman
Illustrations, Charles Robinson
Albert Whitman & Co. (Paperback) ISBN: 0-8075-7863-0
BUY IT NOW

Albert Whitman & Co. (Library Binding) ISBN: 0-8075-7862-2 9 (LC83-1291)
BUY IT NOW

DVD Available from SISU Home Entertainment, Inc. (also available for sight and hearing impaired)
BUY IT NOW


REVIEWS
*Nominated for the National Jewish Book Award for Children.
*Recommended by the National Conference of Christians and Jews as an ecumenical story promoting brotherhood and understanding, “...warm, humorous, and respectful of various beliefs.”

“A credible treatment of a touchy topic. Every Jewish child who has felt like a stranger in his own country at Christmastime will empathize…”
—Booklist

“Hooray for this long overdue story which pinpoints the left-out feelings of
Jewish children during the Christmas season.”
—Checklist

“Sussman's small narrator Robin relates a tender story about ecumenical fellowship, depicted attractively in Robinson's drawings…. With his wisdom and love, the grandfather widens the child's understanding, as Sussman does for the reader of her endearing story.”
—Publishers Weekly

“It is difficult to be a minority anyway, especially at a time of year when the whole world seems to be celebrating something forbidden to you Chanukah Bush gives new insight into the difference between helping friends celebrate their holiday, and celebrating one of your own.”
—Holiday’s Remembered

“[Chanukah Bush]…should be mandatory for all Jewish children who wonder why they can’t have a Christmas tree and are in the process of dealing with being different in a Christian country. A wonderful story!”
—Baltimore Jewish Tunes

“Robin wants a Christmas tree, even though she’s Jewish. Grandfather helps her to understand that Jews can share other people’s festivals without celebrating them at home. Warm, humorous, and respectful of various beliefs.”
—National Conference of Christians and Jews

“Sussman solves the dilemma of being Jewish in America at Christmas.”
—American Jewish Congress Monthly

“There’s No Such Thing as a Chanukah Bush. Sandy Goldstein goes to the heart of what it often feels like for children to be Jewish at Christmas time.”
—Jewish Heritage

ABOUT THE BOOK
Christmas is the worst time of year for Robin. That’s because she has to face the same question again: Does her being Jewish really man she can’t have a Christmas tree and be a part of all the excitement around her? It doesn’t help at all that her classmate, Sandy Goldstein, has a Chanukah bush; it only makes her non-Jewish friends ask Robin more questions. But help does come—from unexpected sources: Robin’s grandfather and a Christmas party!

Also Available on Video Cassette



Video available from SISU Home Entertainment, Inc.
BUY IT NOW

order at: http://www.amazon.com/MIAMI-ICED-Susan-Sussman-ebook/dp/B00NAX2ZFC

Find Authors