Susan Sussman
The Official Website of Susan Sussman

Books by
Susan Sussman

Mystery, female sleuths, humor
The latest Sussman mystery filled with Miami mayhem, miscreants and murder.
Theater-world Mysteries
A sharp and sassy crime debut in the tradition of Janet Evanovich and Lauren Henderson.
(Also available in Audiobook!)
Sussman and Avidon deliver an amazingly fresh and entertaining puzzle sure to have mystery fans crying "encore!" once again.
Contemporary Women’s Fiction
The Best No-Calorie Treat of the Decade!
Here, with wit, warmth and penetrating insight, is a love story for the new millennium.
A powerful and compelling novel about a woman's discovery of her true identity.
Children's Fiction
A charming ecumenical story promoting brotherhood and understanding.
(Also available on video!)
Each of the eight lights of Hanukkah are described from various corners of the world.
What do you do when you’re a little scared of the thunder and a storm hits? Why, you count hippos!
Children's Nonfiction
Full-color photographs illustrate fourteen of the most fascinating symbiotic relationships that have developed between pairs of living creatures.
An essential book for the budding grade-school scientist.

Lies (people believe) About Animals


Lies (people believe) About Animals
Susan Sussman with Robert James, Naturalist
Photographs by Fred Leavitt.
Albert Whitman & Co. ISBN: 0-8075-4530-9
BUY IT NOW


REVIEWS
*Named Outstanding Science Trade Book for Children by the National Science Teachers Association and the Children’s Book Council.

“So you think an elephant drinks through its trunk? Tusk, tusk. Separating animal fact from fiction is fun for children of all ages and now there’s a witty book on the subject [that] sets the record straight on 26 different animal myths. Whimsical photographs add fun to the simple text.”
—Working Mothers Magazine

“The book will fascinate and inform any young animal enthusiast.”
—School Library Journal

“Armadillos give birth to two sets of identical twins, all the same sex, and can carry leprosy. The most common natural cause of an elephant’s death is starvation, because at a certain age its grinding teeth fall out. Want to know more? Intriguing,
informal...”
—Kirkus Reviews

“The authors smoothly and credibly debunk a series of myths about animals.”
—Booklist

“This is an excellent book that should dispel myths long held by many people about animals... The book’s exceedingly readable text is written in a concise, scientific manner... children and adults should find this book interesting reading.”
—Science and Children, National Science Teachers Association

“Well researched text offers accurate information on the most common lies told about twenty animals (squirrel’s bite will give you rabies, snakes are wet and slimy).. .an excellent resource for research or recreational reading.”
—North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

“This is a wonderful book about animals. Highly recommended.”
—Tucson Unified School District

ABOUT THE BOOK
Sue Sussman, author of numerous children's books, teams up with noted zoologist Robert James and photographer Fred Leavitt to present a clear, concise book for fourth through sixth graders which includes lie/​truth statements about animals followed by intriguing, easy to understand facts. An essential book for the budding grade-school scientist.

order at: http://www.amazon.com/MIAMI-ICED-Susan-Sussman-ebook/dp/B00NAX2ZFC

Find Authors