Susan Sussman
The Official Website of Susan Sussman

Books by
Susan Sussman

Mystery, female sleuths, humor
The latest Sussman mystery filled with Miami mayhem, miscreants and murder.
Theater-world Mysteries
A sharp and sassy crime debut in the tradition of Janet Evanovich and Lauren Henderson.
(Also available in Audiobook!)
Sussman and Avidon deliver an amazingly fresh and entertaining puzzle sure to have mystery fans crying "encore!" once again.
Contemporary Women’s Fiction
The Best No-Calorie Treat of the Decade!
Here, with wit, warmth and penetrating insight, is a love story for the new millennium.
A powerful and compelling novel about a woman's discovery of her true identity.
Children's Fiction
A charming ecumenical story promoting brotherhood and understanding.
(Also available on video!)
Each of the eight lights of Hanukkah are described from various corners of the world.
What do you do when you’re a little scared of the thunder and a storm hits? Why, you count hippos!
Children's Nonfiction
Full-color photographs illustrate fourteen of the most fascinating symbiotic relationships that have developed between pairs of living creatures.
An essential book for the budding grade-school scientist.

Credits

Booksby SUSAN SUSSMAN

MIAMI ICED Kindle

CRUISING FOR MURDERr and Audition for Murder audio versions, Books
           in Motion

    CRUISING FOR MURDER (adult mystery, hardcover) St. Martin’s Press  Piatkus, British; Worldwide (paperback) 2002.

    AUDITION FOR MURDER (adult mystery, hardcover) St. Martin’s Press; Piatkus, British; Kompass Publishers, Bulgaria; Worldwide (paperback)  Phantom Press, Russia, 2002.

    YOUNG WIVES' TALES (adult) Headline Publications, British; Knaur,            German.

    Young Adult line of books for HarperCollins.

    Time Off From Good Behavior (adult), Pocket Books, hardcover;
           Headline Publications, British; Knaur, German; ECI, Dutch; Denmark
           Wangels, 1994; Hungary, Mars, 1995.

    Big Friend, Little Friend: A Book About Symbiosis (juvenile),
           Houghton Mifflin.

    The Dieter (adult), Pocket Books, hardcover; Headline Publications,
           British; ECI, Dutch; Knaur, German; Wangels, Danish; Schweizerverlag,
           German bookclub; Presses de la Cite, French; Quadratum Editor
    Hanukkah: Eight Lights Around the World (juvenile), Albert
           Whitman.

    One For You, One For Me (juvenile), Disney/​World Books.

    Lies (people believe) About Animals (juvenile), Albert Whitman.

    Sweet Talk (young adult), Dell.

    Night After Night (young adult), Dell.

    Just Friends (young adult), Fawcett/​Ballantine.

    Don't Say Goodbye (young adult), Dell.

    There's No Such Thing As A Chanukah Bush, Sandy Goldstein
           (juvenile), Albert Whitman.

    Hippo Thunder (juvenile), Albert Whitman.

Honors & Awards


EMMY AWARD: Film adaptation of her children's book THERE'S NO SUCH THING AS A CHANUKAH BUSH, SANDY GOLDSTEIN

Big Friend, Little Friend voted Outstanding Science Trade Book by the Children's Book Council and National Science Teachers Association

Lies (People Believe) About Animals voted Outstanding Science Trade Book by the Children's Book Council and National Science Teachers Association. Lies is included in the Lincoln Park Zoo book center and Museum of Science and Industry traveling exhibits. A six year hands-on exhibit built around the book was featured at Chicago’s Children’s Museum.

Jewish Book Council Award Nominee for There's No Such Thing As A Chanukah Bush, Sandy Goldstein. This book has been translated into Braille by the Library of Congress and is recommended by the National Conference of Christians and Jews.

American Jewish Congress Symposium, Jewish Women in the Arts-panelist "Jewish Women and Humor

Film & Television

Executive Producer and Screenwriter for: “There’s No Such Thing as a Chanukah Bush, Sandy Goldstein”, (short, live-action drama.)

1993-98 “Chanukah Bush” Film Awards and Honors:

    1998 EMMY Award - Producer/​Screenwriter

    Winner: Silver Plaque
    Chicago International Film Festival for the category: Films for Children

    Winner: Best Short Dramatic Adaptation
    Charleston Filmfest, a branch of the Houston International Film Festival

    Winner: Silver Plaque
    Children’s International Film Festival in Chicago

    Winner: Bronze Plaque
    Columbus International Film & Video Festival for the category: Children
    Dealing with Religion.

    1997-98 Selected for presentation at the Miami, Boston, and Palm Beach
    Jewish Film Festivals

    1997 Selected for presentation on public television stations in New York,
    Seattle/​Canada, Miami, Los Angeles, Chicago.

Other

Organizations


Authors Guild

Mystery Writers of America

Off Campus Writers Workshop

1996-2000     Society of Midland Authors, Board of Directors.

1991-94        Illinois Center for the Book, Board Member

1992             Illinois Center for the Book, Nominating Committee

1988-90        Society of Midland Authors, Board of Directors.

1988             Society of Midland Authors, Nominating Committee.

1988             Society of Children's Book Writers, Midwest Planning Committee.

1988             Evanston Arts Council, Grants Review Committee.

1987             Society of Midland Authors, Children's Book Award Chairperson,

1987             Children's Reading Round Table, Program Chairperson for
                    Summer Seminar.

1987             Evanston Arts Council, Grants Review Committee.

1986             Society of Midland Authors, Authors' Award Committee

Civic


Judge, Illinois Center for the Book, essay contest “Books Change Lives”

Judge, Chicago Sun-Times “Books of the Year” Awards

Planning Committee, The First International Conference of Jewish Women, Kiev, Ukraine

Creator, Books and Breakfast, a non-profit program to feed breakfast and read to “at risk” grade school children in Evanston
Mayhem Miami-style. Hold on to your sunblock, Sussman's done it again!

order at: http://www.amazon.com/MIAMI-ICED-Susan-Sussman-ebook/dp/B00NAX2ZFC

Find Authors